If you’re looking for extra cash to cover an emergency, pay off debt, or fund a big purchase, a personal loan could help. New Yorkers can choose from online lenders with fast funding or local banks and credit unions offering competitive rates.
In this guide, we’ll cover the best personal loans in New York, state-specific rules, and what to consider before you apply so you can find the right financing for your needs.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
How personal loans work in New York
Personal loans in New York work similarly to those in other states, but with these differences:
- Interest rate cap: New York limits rates on unsecured personal loans to 25% APR, lower than the 36% max in many states.
- Secured vs. unsecured loans: Most are unsecured, but some lenders offer secured options if you have poor credit.
- Uses: Consolidate debt, pay for home improvements, cover emergency expenses, and more.
Best online personal loans in New York
Credible
Why Credible is one of the best
Credible is an online loan marketplace that makes it easy to compare prequalified rates from multiple lenders at once. You can submit basic information and see whether you prequalify for personal loans in New York without affecting your credit score.
Rates and terms will vary by lender, but some accept credit scores as low as 560.
- Compare loans from multiple curated lenders
- Get prequalified loan offers in as little as 2 minutes
- Get funded within a few business days
- Origination fee of up to 12%
- No option to apply for joint loans
| Rates (APR) | 6.99% – 35.99% |
| Loan amounts | $1,000 – $250,000 |
| Repayment terms | 1 – 10 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: Varies
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: Loan partners may not be available in all states
Repayment terms
Credible loans have repayment terms ranging from 1 to 10 years. Some lenders may charge a prepayment penalty if you pay your loan off early.
Upgrade
Why Upgrade is one of the best
Upgrade’s personal loans in New York may be a solid option if you have fair credit. The lender accepts scores starting at 560. Upgrade can fund your loan fast and lets you choose repayment terms of up to seven years.
However, Upgrade charges an origination fee on its personal loans, which could be 1.85% to 9.99% of the loan amount.
- Choose your monthly payment and loan term
- Joint applications accepted
- Loan funds may be available in as little as 1 day
- Smaller loan maximum limit
- 1.85% to 9.99% origination fee
| Rates (APR) | 8.49% – 35.99% |
| Loan amounts | $1,000 – $50,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 7 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: 580
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
Upgrade loans have repayment terms from 2 to 7 years, and your monthly due date is adjustable to fit your budget. A short-term financial hardship program is available if you’re temporarily unable to manage payments.
SoFi
Why SoFi is one of the best
SoFi® is an online lender that offers personal loans in all 50 states, including New York. Fixed rates range between 8.99% and 29.99% with all discounts applied1, and you can choose repayment terms anywhere from two to seven years.
You won’t have to worry about fees, not even late fees, on a SoFi personal loan. However, you may see offers with an optional origination fee with better rates.
- No origination fees, late payment fees, or prepayment penalties
- Check rates in as little as 60 seconds
- Some borrowers may qualify for same-day funding
- Higher minimum loan amount
- Autopay discount is lower than what some lenders offer
| Fixed rates (APR) | 8.99% – 29.99% with all discounts |
| Loan amounts | $5,000 – $100,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 7 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: 660
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
SoFi personal loans feature terms from 2 to 7 years. If you enroll in autopay, you’ll receive a 0.25% rate discount. There’s no penalty if you decide to pay your loan off early.
LightStream
Why LightStream is one of the best
LightStream offers personal loans in New York up to $100,000 with repayment terms as long as 12 years, which is longer than many other lenders offer. Strong-credit borrowers may also qualify for competitive rates. LightStream doesn’t charge origination fees on its personal loans and can fund your loan the same day your application is approved.
One downside: LightStream doesn’t let you prequalify for a loan online. That means you must submit a full application to see your loan offers, which could affect your credit.
- Rate match guarantee ensures that you get the best rate possible
- Same-day funding may be available
- Take advantage of a longer repayment term if you need lower payments
- No option to prequalify or check rates with a soft credit pull
- Minimum loan amount is $5,000
| Rates (APR) | 7.49% – 25.49% |
| Loan amounts | $5,000 – $100,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 12 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? No
- Minimum credit score: 660
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
LightStream offers some of the longest repayment terms of any lender, giving you up to 12 years to repay your loan. You can pay your loan off early, without a prepayment penalty and rate discounts can help bring the cost of your loan down.
I suggest not going with a company that doesn’t allow you to prequalify unless you know you have excellent credit and clear credit reports from all three credit bureaus.
Best local lenders in New York
First New York Federal Credit Union
What to know
When it began operations in 1937, First New York Federal Credit Union provided services to Schenectady City School District teachers. Now, the credit union has more than 34,000 members and branches in Schenectady, Saratoga, Schoharie, Rensselaer, and Albany counties.
First New York offers a wide range of loan options, including unsecured and secured personal loans, car loans, mortgages, student loans, and more.
New York Municipal Credit Union
What to know
In operation since 1916, New York Municipal Credit Union now serves nearly 600,000 members. Some of the credit union’s offerings include personal loans (secured and unsecured), mortgages, credit cards, and various banking accounts. MCU says it can approve personal loan applications in a few minutes.
You can join if you live, work, worship, or attend school in New York City, work for the state of New York or a federal employer, or are an immediate family member of a current member.
New York University Federal Credit Union
What to know
With more than 5,000 members, NYU’s FCU offers personal, home, vehicle, and student loans. It also offers credit cards, independent retirement accounts, and savings account options.
You can join if you’re a staff member, student, or faculty member of New York University. Membership is also open to retired employees and alumni, as well as the immediate family of an NYU FCU member.
Apple Bank
What to know
Open since 1863, Apple Bank has an ongoing commitment to neighborhood banking. It offers personal loans up to $50,000 with repayment terms of three or five years to qualifying New York State residents.
Apple Bank will let you prequalify for a loan online with no impact on your credit score. It charges no origination fees, late fees, or prepayment penalties, and it can fund your personal loan the next business day.
Personal loans for bad credit in New York
Some lenders accept scores as low as 560, but options are limited. Alternatives include:
- Applying with a cosigner
- Choosing a secured personal loan
- Avoiding payday lenders and no-credit-check loans with high rates
Pros and cons of personal loans in NY
Pros: What we like
- Unsecured options don’t risk your property
- Potentially lower rates than credit cards
- Fast funding and flexible terms
Cons: Things to keep in mind
- Good credit needed for best rates
- Some loans carry fees
- Higher rates than secured home equity loans
How to apply
To apply for a loan in New York, follow these steps:
- Check your credit score
- Compare lenders and prequalify
- Submit your application with supporting documents
- Receive funds and start repayment
FAQ
Can I get a personal loan with bad credit in NY?
Yes, but the options are fewer. Compare lenders accepting fair credit or consider adding a cosigner.
Are rates higher in NY?
Not necessarily. New York caps rates at 25% APR, potentially lower than in states allowing up to 36%.
What are state-specific requirements?
You must meet general lender eligibility, be at least 18 years old, and provide proof of income and identity.
Recap of the best online lenders in New York
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
About our contributors
-
Written by Rebecca SafierRebecca Safier is a personal finance writer with years of experience writing about student loans, personal loans, budgeting, and related topics. She is certified as a student loan counselor through the National Association of Certified Credit Counselors.
-
Edited by Kristen Barrett, MATKristen Barrett is a managing editor at LendEDU. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her wife and their pack of senior rescue dogs. She has edited and written personal finance content since 2015.