Looking for a personal loan? If you’re an Ohio resident, you have no shortage of lenders to choose from.
To help you narrow down your options, we’ve rounded up the best personal loans available, from online lenders to local Buckeye banks and credit unions. We’ve also researched the key consumer protections that Ohioans need to know about. Before we dive into Ohio’s borrower safeguards, kick off your personal loan search with these featured lenders:
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
Table of Contents
Reviews of the best online personal loans in Ohio
You can find personal loans from both online and local lenders. Online lenders are newer to the lending landscape, so it’s important to understand how they differ from Ohio’s regional banks and credit unions:
- Online lenders are pillars of convenience. With fully digital applications and funding processes, these modern creditors turn to technology—instead of physical branches—to serve their borrowers.
- Local lenders are pillars of the community. They’re well-known in the Ohio areas they serve and rely on relationships with local residents to stay in business. As a result, these lenders boast more personalized support.
Online lenders may be the better choice if you’re comfortable with a do-it-yourself loan process (or if you simply prefer minimal human interaction). On the other hand, local lenders are the clear winner if you’re technology-averse or want the option for in-person customer service.
Aside from your personal inclinations, your credit history also plays a role in choosing a lender. Some lenders only accept the highest scores, while others have more generous eligibility criteria.
There’s no universal minimum credit score to get a personal loan, but knowing where your credit stands can help you identify lenders that give you the best approval odds.
To streamline your personal loan search, we’ve included online lenders and lenders local to Ohio in our list of recommendations. Not all lenders publish their borrower qualifications, but where possible, we’ve included a note about each lender’s ideal credit range.
If you like the idea of getting a personal loan without ever leaving your couch, we recommend these online lenders:
Credible
Why Credible is the best marketplace
Credible is our favorite top marketplace for personal loans. Its user-friendly platform simplifies the borrowing experience, so Ohioans can easily compare and choose the best loan option for their needs.
Whether you’re looking for a personal loan to consolidate debt, cover medical expenses, or finance a major purchase, Credible provides a reliable and convenient solution.
- Compare loans from multiple curated lenders
- Get prequalified loan offers in as little as 2 minutes
- Get funded within a few business days
- No option to apply for joint loans
| Rates (APR) | 6.99% – 35.99% |
| Loan amounts | $1,000 – $200,000 |
| Repayment terms | 1 – 10 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: Varies
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: Loan partners may not be available in all states
Repayment terms
Credible loans have repayment terms ranging from one to 10 years. Some lenders may charge a prepayment penalty if you pay your loan off early.
Upgrade
Why Upgrade is the best personal loan for fair credit
Upgrade is an excellent choice for Ohio residents with FICO credit scores between 580 and 669 seeking personal loans. With its accessible loan options, credit health monitoring tools, and flexible repayment options, Upgrade empowers you to take control of your financial future.
With Upgrade, you can choose your monthly payment and term length and even adjust your payment date during repayment if necessary. Upgrade funds can be available within one day, and the lender accepts joint applications. But be aware that Upgrade charges an origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99%.
Whether you’re looking to consolidate debt, cover unexpected expenses, or finance a major purchase, Upgrade offers transparent terms and competitive rates tailored to your needs. Upgrade’s commitment to financial inclusion and borrower empowerment makes it a top option for fair-credit borrowers in Ohio.
- Choose your monthly payment and loan term
- Joint applications accepted
- Loan funds may be available in as little as 1 day
- Smaller loan maximum limit
- 1.85% to 9.99% origination fee
| Rates (APR) | 8.49% – 35.99% |
| Loan amounts | $1,000 – $50,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 7 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: 580
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
Upgrade loans have repayment terms from two to seven years, and your monthly due date is adjustable to fit your budget. A short-term financial hardship program is available if you’re temporarily unable to manage payments.
SoFi
Why SoFi is the best personal loan for good credit
SoFi is a great option, especially if you have a FICO credit score of 670 or higher. Beyond lending, SoFi offers a wide range of financial products and services, including investment, insurance, and retirement planning.
With member benefits such as financial planning resources, SoFi is committed to helping borrowers improve their financial well-being. Whether you’re looking to consolidate debt, fund home improvements, or pursue higher education, SoFi offers competitive rates and exceptional service for Ohio borrowers.
- No origination fees, late payment fees, or prepayment penalties
- Check rates in as little as 60 seconds
- Some borrowers may qualify for same-day funding
- Higher minimum loan amount
- Autopay discount is lower than what some lenders offer
| Fixed rates (APR) | 8.99% – 29.99% with all discounts |
| Loan amounts | $5,000 – $100,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 7 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? Yes
- Minimum credit score: 660
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
SoFi personal loans feature terms from two to seven years. If you enroll in autopay, you’ll get a 0.25% rate discount. There’s no penalty if you decide to pay your loan off early.
LightStream
Why LightStream is the best personal loan for excellent credit
LightStream is an excellent choice for Ohio residents with FICO credit scores of at least 740 seeking personal loans. It offers competitive APRs, flexible terms, and high borrowing limits.
Whether you’re planning a home renovation, a wedding, or a dream vacation, LightStream provides customized loans that match your financing needs, with funds available as soon as today. However, LightStream doesn’t offer a soft credit check for prequalification, so we think it’s best for borrowers with excellent credit scores who are confident they’ll be approved.
- Rate match guarantee ensures that you get the best rate possible
- Same-day funding may be available
- Take advantage of a longer repayment term if you need lower payments
- No option to prequalify or check rates with a soft credit pull
- Minimum loan amount is $5,000
| Rates (APR) | 7.49% – 25.49% |
| Loan amounts | $5,000 – $100,000 |
| Repayment terms | 2 – 12 years |
Eligibility requirements
- Soft credit check? No
- Minimum credit score: 660
- Minimum income: Not disclosed
- States: All 50 states and Washington, D.C.
Repayment terms
LightStream offers some of the longest repayment terms of any lender, giving you up to 12 years to repay your loan. You can pay your loan off early, without a prepayment penalty and rate discounts can help bring the cost of your loan down.
Local Ohio personal loan lenders
Some borrowers prefer working with a local bank or credit union. Ohio residents may be able to find personal loan options through the following institutions, though eligibility, loan terms, and rates vary by membership requirements.
| Lender | Institution type | Notable details |
|---|---|---|
| Telhio Credit Union | Credit union | Member-owned credit union serving Ohio residents with various personal loan options |
| Kemba Financial Credit Union | Credit union | Offers signature loans, lines of credit, and share-secured loans |
| Ohio Catholic Federal Credit Union | Credit union | Provides personal loans and other lending products to qualifying members |
| OHecu | Credit union | Offers personal loans with flexible terms for members |
| Heartland Bank | Bank | Ohio-based community bank offering personal loans and other consumer financing |
About Ohio personal loans
If you look at personal loans by state, you’ll see that Ohio personal loans aren’t much different from those you’d find elsewhere. Still, a few consumer protections and lender regulations are specific to Ohio.
For starters, Ohio caps installment loan interest rates at 25%. Of the 42 states and D.C. that set an interest rate ceiling, Ohio’s maximum rate is higher than only 13 states and lower than 26.
But Ohio has another interest-related provision on the books: If a lender violates the rate cap, it must pay that interest back to the borrower. Personal loan lenders in Ohio are subject to the following origination fee restrictions:
| Principal amount | Max. origination fee |
| $500 or less | $15 |
| $501 – $999 | $30 |
| $1,000 – $1,999 | $100 |
| $2,000 – $4,999 | $200 |
| $5,000 or more | Greater of $250 or 1% of loan amount |
Limiting rates and origination fees helps to limit Ohioans’ borrowing costs.
These measures, your interest rate and personal loan fees, are combined into what’s called an annual percentage rate (APR). The higher your APR, the more you’ll pay for your loan over time.
Speaking of repayment, fulfilling your personal loan debt obligation in Ohio is straightforward: You’ll pay a set amount each month until your loan is satisfied in full.
Many lenders let you make extra payments to reduce your principal balance. If you can afford to do so, you could pay off your loan early and save hundreds (or thousands) on interest.
If you fall behind on your payments, Ohio stipulates what actions a personal lender can take:
- Your lender can’t charge a late fee if you remit payment within 10 days of your due date.
- Late fees can’t exceed $15 or 5% of your monthly payment amount, whichever is greater.
- Your lender can only assess one late fee per missed payment, no matter how late your payment is.
No one intentionally misses a loan payment, but if you foresee financial hardship on the horizon, contact your lender as soon as possible.
You may be able to work out a payment agreement that keeps your account in good standing and protects your credit until you can get back on track.
Should you choose a national or local personal loan lender?
Wondering whether to borrow from a big-name lender or a neighborhood mainstay? Your best-fit lender depends on what you’re looking for in terms of convenience, customer service, and qualification criteria.
Before we break down the potential positives and negatives in more detail, here’s a quick overview of the differences between each option:
| National lenders | Local lenders |
| Multi-state availability | Regional availability |
| Prioritize convenience and efficiency | Prioritize client relationships |
| Often have unique benefits | Often have more competitive rates |
| More selective eligibility criteria | More flexible eligibility criteria |
A national lender’s presence reaches much farther than a local lender’s. If you travel often or plan to move out of Ohio, you stand a better chance at finding a nearby location from a larger lender than you would with a community bank or credit union.
But that expansive service area can come at a cost. Smaller lenders cater to a smaller audience, so you’re less likely to feel—or be treated—like just a number.
Still, local lenders may not have as much impetus as national lenders to invest in cutting-edge, customer-facing technology. Many local lenders offer online account access and two-way messaging, but national personal loan lenders are more likely to have:
- Additional contact methods, including instant chat
- Robust proprietary apps
- Enhanced online self-service options
National lenders are also more likely to have complex corporate structures, which can translate into rigid underwriting requirements. Local lenders may have more wiggle room regarding loan approvals.
When deciding between national and local lenders, first find out what rates and terms you can get from both. If you prequalify for similar loan offers from both types of lenders, consider your ideal borrowing experience and let those preferences guide you.
If your loan offers are much different, it’s worth reevaluating your lender must-haves. You might think you’re set on either a national or local lender, but a lower rate or better terms could swing your vote the other way.
How to apply for a personal loan in Ohio
You’ve already made headway looking for lenders, but what should you do when you’re ready to apply? To get a personal loan, follow these steps:
How long it takes to apply for a personal loan depends on your lender. You can prequalify in about a minute, and most personal loan applications take just a few minutes to complete.
Your lender’s review and verification process can take anywhere from a couple of hours to a couple of days. Funding timelines vary too, but you’ll often receive your loan proceeds within one to two business days.
FAQ
What is the interest rate for a personal loan in Ohio?
In March 2026, the interest rate on a personal loan in Ohio ranged from 6.49% to 35.99%. Your credit score, financial circumstances, loan amount, and term length influence your interest rate.
Can you get a personal loan in Ohio with bad credit?
Yes, you can get a personal loan with bad credit. Your loan offer may have a higher interest rate and may impose stricter loan conditions. Some lenders cater to individuals with bad credit, so it’s essential to shop around for the most favorable terms.
What credit score is needed for a personal loan in Ohio?
Many lenders in Ohio require a credit score of 680 or above for a personal loan. However, some lenders will accept lower scores, especially if they consider other factors, such as income stability and debt-to-income ratio.
What is the easiest place to get a personal loan in Ohio?
Online lending marketplaces such as Credible make securing a personal loan in Ohio simple. Decision criteria include credit score, income stability, and financial history.
Recap of the best national personal loans available in Ohio
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
About our contributors
-
Written by Sarah Sheehan, MATSarah Sheehan is a writer, educator, and analyst who focuses on the impact of health, gender, and geography on financial equity. Her ultimate goal? To live beyond the confines of chasing the next dollar—and to teach everyone else how to do the same.
-
Edited by Kristen Barrett, MATKristen Barrett is a managing editor at LendEDU. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her wife and their pack of senior rescue dogs. She has edited and written personal finance content since 2015.
-
Reviewed by Erin Kinkade, CFP®Erin Kinkade, CFP®, ChFC®, works as a financial planner at AAFMAA Wealth Management & Trust. Erin prepares comprehensive financial plans for military veterans and their families.