Our take: DCU personal loans offer flexible repayment terms. However, borrowers with good to excellent credit may find lower rates with other lenders on our list of the best personal loans.
Signature Personal Loan
- No payments required for the first 60 days
- Lower rates may be available from several higher-rated lenders
- Credit union membership required
- Lacks transparency (loan amounts and minimum allowed credit scores not disclosed)
| Rates (APR) | Starting at 11.99% |
| Loan amounts | Not disclosed |
| Repayment terms | Up to 5 years |
DCU personal loan details at a glance
| Feature | Details |
| Loan amounts | Not disclosed |
| APR range | As low as 11.99% (Signature loan) |
| Loan types | Signature, Credit Builder, Savings Secured, Access, Fuel Assistance, Energy Efficiency |
| Loan terms | Up to 60 months |
| Fees | No origination or prepayment fees; late fees apply |
| Credit score required | Not disclosed |
| Time to fund | Typically 3–4 business days after approval |
| Membership required? | Yes, but you can apply before joining |
Signature Personal Loan (Unsecured)
DCU’s Signature Personal Loan is its standard unsecured option for debt consolidation, major purchases, or general expenses. Like most credit unions, DCU doesn’t charge origination or prepayment fees.
You don’t need to be a DCU member to apply, but you’ll need to join if you’re approved. Loan funds are typically deposited within a few business days after approval, and there’s a 60-day payment deferral option for new loans.
Features:
- 60-month maximum term
- Fixed rate starting at 11.99% APR
- 0.50% rate discount for Plus and Relationship members with autopay
- No payments due for the first 60 days
- Late payment fees apply monthly if you’re behind
What to watch for:
DCU doesn’t clearly disclose credit score requirements, but its lowest rates are likely reserved for borrowers with excellent credit. (And excellent-credit borrowers might qualify for much lower rates with LightStream.)
If you’re not in that range, your rate could be much higher, or you may not qualify at all.
Credit Builder Loan
DCU’s Credit Builder Loan is a secured loan designed to help members build or rebuild credit. The amount you borrow is held in a DCU savings account until the loan is repaid. Once paid in full, you’ll receive the funds, along with the benefit of a positive payment history reported to the credit bureaus.
- Rates as low as 5.00% APR
- Funds held in savings until repaid
- Designed to help build credit
See our picks for the Best Credit Builder Loans.
Savings Secured Loan
With a Savings Secured Loan, you borrow against your DCU savings account or certificate of deposit (CD). This type of loan is ideal if you want to preserve your savings while building credit or covering a short-term need.
- Rates as low as 3.50% APR
- Secured by your own funds
- Funds remain on hold until the loan is paid
See our picks for the Best Secured Loans.
Energy Efficiency Loan
This option helps finance energy-efficient home improvements like heat pumps, solar panels, or insulation upgrades. To qualify, the contractor must be a DCU-approved Home Improvement partner.
- Rates as low as 8.75% APR
- Term up to 10 years
- Contractor must be DCU-approved
Access Loan
DCU’s Access Loan can help borrowers finance specialty equipment and home improvements that assist someone with a disability.
- Rates as low as 10.85% APR
- Term up to 6 years
Fuel Assistance Loan
This seasonal loan helps cover home heating costs during the winter months. It can be used for oil, gas, propane, pellets, firewood, or electricity used for home heating.
- Borrow up to $3,000
- Rates starting at 8.25% APR
- Maximum term of 1 year
- Must qualify for an unsecured loan
Pros and cons of DCU personal loans
Pros
-
No origination or prepayment fee
You won’t pay extra to get the loan or pay it off early.
-
Membership is open nationwide
You don’t have to live in New England to join; anyone can become a DCU member
-
Payment deferral
New personal loans come with the ability to delay your first payment for 60 days.
-
Multiple loan types
Options include secured, unsecured, and purpose-specific loans.
Cons
-
Limited transparency
Credit requirements, Signature Loan amounts, and more aren’t disclosed on the website.
-
Lower rates may be available elsewhere with excellent credit
Several of our team’s highest-rated personal loan lenders offer much lower starting rates.
Alternatives to DCU
Here are three alternatives we recommend considering before you proceed with DCU:
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
- Terms and conditions apply. SOFI RESERVES THE RIGHT TO MODIFY OR DISCONTINUE PRODUCTS AND BENEFITS AT ANY TIME WITHOUT NOTICE. To qualify, a borrower must be a U.S. citizen or other eligible status, be residing in the U.S., and meet SoFi’s underwriting requirements. Not all borrowers receive the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. If approved, your actual rate will be within the range of rates at the time of application and will depend on a variety of factors, including term of loan, evaluation of your creditworthiness, income, and other factors. If SoFi is unable to offer you a loan but matches you for a loan with a participating bank, then your rate may be outside the range of rates listed above. Rates and Terms are subject to change at any time without notice. SoFi Personal Loans can be used for any lawful personal, family, or household purposes and may not be used for post-secondary education expenses. Minimum loan amount is $5,000. The average of SoFi Personal Loans funded in 2025 was around $32K. Based on loans funded from 1/1/2025-12/31/2025. Information current as of 10/02/26. SoFi Personal Loans originated by SoFi Bank, N.A. Member FDIC. NMLS #696891 (www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org). See SoFi.com/legal for state-specific license details. See SoFi.com/eligibility for details and state restrictions.
- Fixed rates from 6.99% APR to 35.49% APR. APR reflect the 0.25% autopay interest rate discount and a 0.25% member rate discount. SoFi Platform personal loans are made either by SoFi Bank, N.A. or , Cross River Bank, a New Jersey State Chartered Commercial Bank, operating from its Delaware branch, Member FDIC, Equal Housing Lender. SoFi may receive compensation if you take out a loan originated by Cross River Bank. These rate ranges are current as of 10/02/26 and are subject to change without notice. Not all rates and amounts available in all states. See SoFi Personal Loan eligibility details at https://www.sofi.com/eligibilitycriteria/#eligibility-personal. Not all applicants qualify for the lowest rate. Lowest rates reserved for the most creditworthy borrowers. Your actual rate will be within the range of rates listed above and will depend on a variety of factors, including evaluation of your credit worthiness, income, and other factors. Loan amounts range from $5,000– $100,000. The APR is the cost of credit as a yearly rate and reflects both your interest rate and an origination fee of 9.99% of your loan amount for Cross River Bank originated loans which will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive and for SoFi Bank originated loans have an origination fee of 0%-7%, will be deducted from any loan proceeds you receive.
- Autopay Discount: The SoFi 0.25% autopay interest rate reduction requires you to make monthly payments using SoFi’s automatic monthly deduction from a savings or checking account. The discount will discontinue and be lost when you do not have autopay enabled. You’re not required to set up autopay to obtain this loan.
- Member Rate Discount: To be eligible for an additional 0.25% interest rate reduction on a Personal Loan, you must, within 31 days of loan funding, either (1) meet SoFi Plus eligibility criteria, (2) receive an Eligible Direct Deposit into a SoFi Checking or Savings account, or (3) receive at least $5,000 in Qualifying Deposits into a SoFi Checking or Savings account. You must continue to meet at least one of the above eligibility criteria every 31 days to maintain the discount. See the SoFi Plus terms for details on SoFi Plus subscription. For more details on Eligible Direct Deposit or Qualifying Deposits, please see https://www.sofi.com/legal/banking-rate-sheet. Once you become eligible during the initial period, the discount will be removed or reinstated depending on whether the criteria have been met. Each time your loan is re-amortized, your monthly payment amount will change based upon the interest rate that was in place. SoFi reserves the right to modify or terminate this offer at any time for unenrolled participants. You are not required to meet these criteria to be approved for a loan.
DCU vs. SoFi
SoFi offers large loan amounts, lower fixed rates, and extra benefits, like financial planning and referral bonuses. It’s best suited for borrowers with strong credit profiles.
DCU vs. LightStream
LightStream offers some of the lowest personal loan rates on the market, but you can’t check your rates without affecting your credit score. We think it’s best for borrowers with excellent credit who are confident they’ll be approved. Loan amounts are generous, with no fees and same-day funding.
DCU vs. PenFed Credit Union
If you want to stick with a credit union but need higher loan limits, PenFed offers loans up to $50,000 and lower rates. It’s more transparent than DCU about eligibility.
About our contributors
-
Written by Jeff Gitlen, CEPF®Jeff Gitlen, CEPF®, is the director of growth at LendEDU. He graduated from the Alfred Lerner College of Business and Economics at the University of Delaware.
-
Edited by Kristen Barrett, MATKristen Barrett is a managing editor at LendEDU. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio, with her wife and their pack of senior rescue dogs. She has edited and written personal finance content since 2015.